Reading Augustine’s Confessions all the way through without stopping, earlier this year, was a completely great experience. So I’m doing it again.

II.

“But how can I call unto my God, my God and Lord? For in calling unto Him, I am calling Him to me: and what room is there in me for my God, the God who made heaven and earth? Is there anything in me, O God, that can contain You? All heaven and earth cannot contain You for You made them, and me in them. Yet, since nothing that is could exist without You, You must in some way be in all that is: [therefore also in me, since I am]. And if You are already in me since otherwise I should not be, why do I cry to You to enter into me? Even if I were in Hell You would be there for if I go down into hell, Thou art there also. Thus, O God, I should be nothing, utterly nothing, unless You were in me—or rather unless I were in You, of Whom and by Whom and in Whom are all things. So it is, Lord: so it is. Where do I call You to come to, since I am in You? Or where else are You that You can come to me? Where shall I go, beyond the bounds of heaven and earth, that God may come to me, since He has said: Heaven and earth do I fill.” (4).

Confessions of St. Augustine, trans. F. J. Sheed (1943)

 

