Mary Oliver:  I like to think of myself as a praise poet.

Maria Shriver: What does  that mean?

Mary Oliver: That I acknowledge my feeling and  gratitude for life by praising the world and whoever made all these things.

Maria Shriver: Is that the poet’s goal? Or is the goal to make  people look at nature in a different way? Is it to touch their soul? Is it for  them to feel delight?

Mary Oliver: All of those things.  I am not  very hopeful about the Earth remaining as it was when I was a child.  It’s  already greatly changed.  But I think when we lose the connection with the  natural world, we tend to forget that we’re animals, that we need the Earth.  And  that can be devastating.  Wendell Berry is a wonderful poet, and he talks about  this coming devastation a great deal.  I just happen to think you catch more  flies with honey than with vinegar.  So I try to do more of the “Have you noticed  this wonderful thing? Do you remember this?”

Mary Oliver interview for O

Thanks, Kayla, for sending this!

