Today we’re heading out to Discovery Park with crackers & peanut butter, and what a gorgeous day to do it.  This is the first sunny day we’ve seen since we’ve been here, and it is dazzling.  Not a cloud in the sky.  Yesterday’s doubts about being able to brave the near-constant cloudiness of Seattle are gone.  Whew!

There are times when I wish I had a digital camera, so I could post photos as I take them, but those times only happen about once a year.  Film is a beautiful patience.  I wait to see my photos, and I wait to show them to my friends.  As Rilke said, patience is everything, so I may as well embrace it in as many ways as I can.

By the way, I decided to forget about the MA reading list while on winter break and read Wendell Berry’s Hannah Coulter instead, at the suggestion of my friends Kayla and Elizabeth.  I’ve cried a dozen times.  I love it.  How wonderful this book is.

