So, I’m writing my Milton paper today, with dread in the pit of my stomach and cobwebs in the pit of my brain.  And I was trying to figure out whether to capitalize “the fall” (as in the Fall of Humankind, Garden of Eden, all that) and I stumbled across a pdf of a style sheet from some Christian publisher I’ve never heard of, which I then felt compelled to read for reasons I could never explain.

The “manuscript evaluation” criteria section indicated, first of all, that to be acceptable the manuscript must be glorifying to God.  Lots of questions followed about marketability and “maximum readability”  and promotional platforms, etc. etc.  The last question on the list, unaccompanied by any qualifying or explanatory remarks:  “Is this book anointed by the Holy Spirit?”

That’s so fun to think about.

